A Birthday Greeting from Manila

 

35xxxv. one ok rock.

Photo by Nessa Gabrillo.

 

Dearest Taka,

First of all, I want to call out to the great Suzaku-sama, Byakko-sama , Genbu-sama, Seiryuu-sama, Zenki-sama, Kame-sama, Son Gokou-sama, Sailor Mars-sama, Clow-sama, Lupin-sama, Kenshin-sama, Belldandy-sama, Tamahome-sama and to Voltes V to grant me all the chakras, nens, and good luck I need to have a 100% probability that this letter can at least catch your attention.

As of the time of writing, I am only able to muster 0.0001% probability from the said Gods. Maybe I also need to call on all the Mushi, the Kyojins, maybe even Escaflowne, the Gundams and Evas to send some positive vibes to this letter’s crusade.

But kidding aside, and no matter what the odds are, whether this eventually reaches you or not, I am still writing it.

And before anything else, I just have one message for you on your birthday on the 17th:

just enjoy it.

Well I know you are currently on tour so I am sure you are having the time of your life. Just continue to smile to attract more positive karma. This year, I know that the sheep will continue to bless us, those who are born in the year of the dragon.

And by the way, please do keep that smile, I like it when you do that. πŸ™‚

Alright, I already said a lot but I haven’t introduced myself. My name is Sheen from the beautiful city of Manila in the Philippines.

I was introduced to your music from “The Beginning,” thanks to the first Rurouni Kenshin Live Action movie. I was such a fan of the anime that I was thrilled when the live action was released in the Philippines in 2012.

I started listening to your songs then. That was the time when it finally began.

Two years after, in around mid-2014, I decided to quit my second job. And I was depressed again afterwards. Well, I was always depressed whenever I quit my job. It seemed like what I finally found wasn’t what I wanted. It’s that so-called quarter-life crisis, which is making the life of 20-somethings miserable.

And I continued being a useless human being and locked myself up in my room for the next two months.

One gloomy evening, as all the rest were, I was listening to your songs and was struck by these words:

Can’t take your time what are you waiting for? It’s a waste of time for you blaming yourself.

Just hold on tight, it can be all right. Yes, try to try, keep moving on.

Are you ready now? We are ready now for tonight.

And it was like I was awakened from a bad dream. There came a realization so strong that I was instantaneously headbanged back to reality.

Yes I was wasting my time and blaming myself for things that I shouldn’t be worrying about. And yes, all that I needed to do was to hold on.

And then the positivity continued as Otomo-sensei, your friend Takeru and the rest of the cast visited Manila for the Asian premiere of Kyoto Inferno. I found something that I want.

Keishi Otomo

Posting for the nth time. πŸ™‚ Photo by Ami Gatchalian.

Right there and then, I knew I had already overcome my karasu and finally was living again in the real world.

But real world had not lost its cruelty.

2015 came. The first quarter of this year was actually a roller-coaster ride of emotions. And it ended with another mighty long fall down to the bottomless pit of hell. It seemed that all the negative emotions from work, health, family and life converged to give me my fifth wave of quarter-life crisis. Now, I’m stuck in the middle, again. Ugh.

And just when I am back to black again, and can’t see what’s around me anymore, I heard your voice again:

GET UP! GET UP! GET UP!

And again:

It’s another day, another life. You gotta live it to the fullest.

WE’LL NEVER BE AS YOUNG AS WE ARE NOW.

And again:

DREAM as if you’ll live forever and live as if you’ll die today.

And then that was it. Suddenly I was breaking past the lies. I was depressed again because I had completely forgotten how to DREAM. When did I stop searching for miracles?

All I could say is that you never fail to take my hand and help me make it back again.

Everything will be alright tonight. Let’s start it now. It’s not too late.

You keep on reminding me of that very reason that keeps my heart beating, that thing that I’d risk everything for.

And then you released your seventh album.

We can be the change we needed.

We’ll fight fight till your fears go away, whatever it takes. We’ll fight fight ’til we see another day.

And right there and then, I told myself that I would continue to support your band, so that you could continue creating songs that helpΒ people like me, millenials like us, to fight the challenges brought by this b*tch called life.

I guess I’m ending this letter here. And I’m really wishing you could drop by Manila some time. Filipino fans are dying to meet you in person. If not, I’ll just find other ways on how I could hear these fascinating words of encouragement, and the music accompanying it, live.

So to ONE OK ROCK, to you, to Toru, Tomoya and Ryota, どうも γ‚γ‚ŠγŒγ¨γ† γ”γ–γ„γΎγ—γŸ for keeping me sane.

And once again, happy birthday, Taka-kun. πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

Dreaming with you,

sheen name copy

 

 

 

 

 


All songs and lyrics by ONE OK ROCK:

The Beginning
Stuck in the Middle
Kimishidai Ressha
Karasu
Mightly Long Fall
Decision
C.H.A.O.S.M.Y.T.H.
Suddenly
Memories
Yes I Am
Cry out
Fight the Night


 

The author had also posted this open letter in another site called “Nimotsu Counter.” To access the post, kindly click here.

6 thoughts on “A Birthday Greeting from Manila

  1. So my friend convinced me to go to Tokyo on the 16th because on the 17th she wants to staLk Taka’s usuaL party haunt so she can say happy birthday directLy and guess where he’d be on the 17th? Pittsburgh (γƒΌ_γƒΌ;)

    Anyway, I’m sure you can rise from any funk Life throw you and take yourseLf to the top again πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yey! This is so nice! I hope Taka sees this. He’d be thrilled for sure! Taka, maybe OOR in general, has this really positive effect on me too. πŸ™‚ The song Decision actually made me go back to the one thing I love but almost ended up forgetting: WRITING. I will write, and write, and write, even if writing gets tired of me πŸ™‚
    Taka is very particular with “living life to the fullest”. He’s so right. Let’s all do so. Thanks for sharing your beautiful thoughts! I hope to talk and meet more people like you, Sheen!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much! Yes, I am also hoping that this letter gets to Taka. So I am also seeking the help of OOR fangirls and fanboys all over the world to make this viral hehe. πŸ™‚

      And yes, WRITING, was also what I was talking about when I said, “You keep on reminding me of that very reason that keeps my heart beating, that thing that I’d risk everything for.” That was the dream that I completely forgot until OOR reminded me of it. That’s why I love them. πŸ™‚

      And yes, Taka is so right about life. So let us continue to talk about it the Taka way, alright? hehe

      Thanks again πŸ™‚

      Like

What about your view?

