Partner in Crime

bare, first home

It is bare. Yes. I am living alone in this apartment for almost five years now, but it is still bare.

I was invited by Urban Compass to participate in a new project of theirs called Starter Stories, wherein a few select bloggers were asked about their first place.

Urban Compass is a real estate platform that connects folks searching for apartments with the neighborhood that matches their personality and taste for finding NYC apartments.

I started living alone in May 2011, around 7 months after I got my first regular job. Most of the stuff here were given by my father: an old tv, table, chairs, LPG tank, coffee maker.

kitchen first place

Some stuff on the kitchen counter. Rice coffee from Ilocos. Durian Coffee Jam from Davao. Corn Coffe from Cotabato. Chocolate-coated sunflower seeds from Dagupan.

 

I never bought and wouldn’t be buying any furniture because, first of all I was the thrifty kind of housekeeper.  When you were self-supporting, you tend to track down and think twice to where you would spend your next pay check.

And besides, I was the only one living here. All that I needed were a bed (actually just a mattress), a table as work space, and a chair.

Secondly, I always thought of this place as something temporary, so I wasn’t dressing it up that much. I dream of course of giving myself my own permanent home someday. Yeah, someday.

But I also never thought that something temporary would produce permanent and lasting memories.


This post had been transferred by the author to another blog named “Nimotsu Counter.” To read the rest of this article, kindly click here.

 

What about your view?

