EPOL and the Rain Bearer’s Mended Heart

Part 2 of 2 of the December Waterfall Chronicles


 

A week after the heartbreaking Kawasan trip, I was still craving for an “authentic” nature getaway.

The 22nd of December was a rest day for the Davao leg of our nationwide event. So I tried my luck on one of Davao’s finest.

It was quite a long bus ride. My bus window showed a free film featuring breath-taking mountain views. The sun was shining brightly and the clouds cast various shadows over the green meadows and forests of Mindanao. The chill of the wind was particularly evident as the bus traversed over the zigzag highway. Christmas was surely coming.

The bus was jam-packed that morning. Even people from this part of the country were cramming for the holidays. People climbed up the vehicle with all sorts of baggage: sacks of rice, coal and cotton; containers of fish and other sea food; bags full of native delicacies; vendors selling durian and mangosteen candies; and boxes and boxes of gifts. Christmas was definitely round the next corner.

epol falls highway

I went down at the middle of the highway at Sitio Bagong Silang, Brgy. Baganihan, Marilog District, Davao City. The place was around five more hours away from Cagayan De Oro City.

epol falls yellow bell

A native specie of Yellow Bell.

Across the street, I saw a nipa hut selling a variety of plants. And there I saw the signage.

 

My feet subconsciously stepped backward. I was getting allergic to the word “resort” when attached to waterfalls (see my heartbreaking Kawasan Falls trip here).

But then I saw this path.

epol falls

I started to feel the ants walking over my feet. There was a sigh of relief.

epol falls

Birds began calling me and a grin registered on my face.

And the gush of the water made adrenalin flow through my veins. This was what I called “genuine adventure.”

The Ate at the entrance, to whom I paid seven pesos for maintenance fee, said that I just needed to follow the path and I wouldn’t be lost. Sounds familiar, eh? But she was washing some clothes and didn’t offer me any apples so I applied my insect repellent and moved on.

I came across a magnificently-shaped tree. My heart was already jumping. I could already sense the waterfalls from here.

Then I came across another nipa hut. There was a Kuya who asked me again for another seven pesos. I couldn’t remember seeing any furry ears and tail behind him so I thought he was also telling me the truth when he said, “follow the path.”

I came to a wooden makeshift staircase where I saw this. And I was frozen right then and there.

epol falls

 

It was just… beautiful.

And it was just a perfect timing. The group that got there before me were already leaving when I came. So now, the waterfalls was all mine.

 

epol falls

Yes, a selfie.

 

 

(sigh) Isn’t it serene?

epol falls

(sigh)

epol falls

And for the next two hours, I just sat there staring blankly onto the falls, drowning my consciousness onto the melody and succumbing my senses to the depths of the icy waters.

 

That afternoon, the rain poured, as the sun was shining brightly over the clouds.

The place was just enchanted. The rain bearer was in love.

What about your view?

