Why? Because it makes me happy

Watching anime. Why? Because it makes me happy.

Heidi. memorabilias from Best of Anime 2014

Heidi. souvenirs from Best of Anime 2014.

Collecting anything anime or anything Japanese. Why? Because it makes me happy.

Keishi Otomo-sensei2 copy

“Kailangan pa ba i-memorize ‘yan?” Arigatou for the pic Otomo-sensei. πŸ˜€

Fangirling and literally running after the director of one of the best live-action adaptation of one of the best animes of all time. Why? Because it makes me happy.

pogs copy

Pog. Your childhood is boring if you don’t know them.

As I have been writing in this blog lately, yes, my addiction for Japanese animation have been brewing since before kindergarten.

circa 1994 copy

Oh yes. Look how happy I was with my first Sailomoon toys. πŸ˜€ Circa 1994. With my brother.

We were not rich back then. I wasn’t even aware that original action figures in big boxes even existed. All my parents could buy for me were these toys from the local market of Orion, in the province of Bataan.

precious copy

From 1994 to 2014. Twenty years of making me happy.

But I was the most thrifty kid in town. I would save as much from my allowances just to get myself some pogs, teks, mini-teks, bargain posters and stickers. And everytime someone would go to Manila, I would ask them to buy me the famous Questor Magazine and eventually, Culture Crash. But this only happened maybe around once a quarterly.

questor copy

Questor. The Ultimate Anime Magazine.

On November 2000, according to Wikipedia, the nearest SM to our place opened in San Fernando, Pampanga. Since then, we went to SM once a year. And this was when Comic Alley collected all my savings: from Sakura cards to laminated photos to playing cards and cassette tapes.

cassette copy

Original Cassette tapes. And audio recordings of the live TV broadcast. Come on, you know what I meant right? πŸ˜€

I and my bestfriend then would also do audio tape recordings of the Tagalized anime broadcasts in TV. Come on 90s kids, you knew what I meant right? πŸ˜€

My parents would ask why I was doing all of these. I didn’t know what to tell them at the time. But one thing was for sure. Anime surely made me happy.

Flash forward to the year 2005, I was in my first year at the University of the Philippines. Adjusting for boarding house living in the city was not easy from a girl from the countryside. All the pressure of living on your own and complying to the academic requirements of the premiere university in the country pushed me to set aside my anime addiction for urban survival. And it was not easy to catch up when you had no in-house TV and internet. I was able to attend, for the first time in my life, maybe a couple of anime conventions, but also due to allowance restrictions, I wasn’t able to continue doing it.


This post had been transferred by the author to another blog named “Nimotsu Counter.” To read the rest of my post about my anime addiction, plus some memorabilias from the band “Heidi,” kindly click here.

2 thoughts on “Why? Because it makes me happy

  1. Oh you have a Voltes V original tape! jealous
    I don’t know why it’s harder for people to accept other people’s love for anime (and manga) than, say, obsessions over antique cars or superheroes. I mean, everybody has the right to Love the thing that make them happy, right?

    Sorry for barging in Like that (οΏ£β–½οΏ£;) good luck with the OOR petition!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi amadl! Thanks for dropping by! πŸ˜€ And yes I have the Voltes V original tape hihi. And yes some people would never understand. But life is too short for you to do the things you hate. So just continue doing the stuff that makes you happy πŸ˜€ And we will continue to pray for OOR in Manila πŸ˜€

      Like

What about your view?

