DO YOU KNOW WHAT YOU REALLY WANT?

This so-called real world is mad, extremely mad. It can get you lost and devastated. But, I believe one of the guaranteed ways to get along with its insanity is by knowing what you really want and succumbing yourself to this thing they call passion.

University of the Philippines commencement exercises

Graduation at my beloved school, the University of the Philippines.

But this is easier said than done. Lucky are those who graduated from college and already know what they want to do with their lives. Many graduates are a bit lost on what to do after school, which leads to this another so-called quarter-life crisis. But that’s a completely different story. I myself spent a few years figuring this one out, and every now and then, insane things from this real world is still making me confused about my choice in life. It has been four years from my own graduation.

But before we get more depressing, here are some of the things that I can share with newly-grads about life decisions like this. I would like you to ponder on a few questions.

“Do I love the course I took up in college? Do I want to spend the rest of my life dealing with things related to this course?”

Did you take up your course in college because you love it or because your parents love it? If you love it, I assume you want to spend the rest of your life doing something related to it. But if your parents love it, have you learned to love it too or not? If yes, do you want to spend the rest of your life working in this field? If not, do you still have the energy to pursue what your parents want you to do?

“If my course involves different sub-fields, which among them gives me the most happiness when I’m doing something related to it?”


This post had been transferred by the author to another blog named “Nimotsu Counter.”  To continue reading the post, kindly click here.

What about your view?

