The Red Dot Airline: A Blessing in Disguise

Article 1 of the Palawan Chronicles

Palawan Day 1: Puerto Prinsesa


Sleep. Even on a vacation, I am in need of sleep.

I ended the Christmas Day of 2013 with a nap at 11:30 in the evening. I woke up at 1:00 in the morning of the 26th to prepare for my trip from Bataan to Manila. At 2:00, my uncle brought me and a cousin to the bus terminal. And by 2:30, the bus was driving to the city while everybody was asleep.

And surprisingly, I was able to reach Munoz, Quezon City at 4:00 in the morning. And at 4:30, I safely returned to my apartment in Novaliches.

I packed my bags and by 7:00 I was already on my way to the airport. At 7:45 in the morning, I was battling with myself if the exaggeratedly long line in MRT North Avenue could get me any nearer the airport. After 35 minutes, fortunately, it did.

I met my friend Nessa in Taft Avenue at around 9:00 and went straight to NAIA Terminal 4. We got there around 9:30. The concierge officer told us that we could not check-in til 10:00 in the morning for our 12:00 flight.

So we waited.

The clock struck ten. The staff of the Red Dot Airline started putting the sign “Down system. Please bear with us.” And still we could not see any counter for the Puerto Princesa flight.

It says counter is “CLOSED.” No destination and flight number details either. But they are entertaining guests here. πŸ™‚

After 20 minutes, we saw people lining up to Counter 11 which was the only one entertaining guests going to Puerto Princesa. So we followed the line.

It was already 11:00 but we were still standing at the same spot 40 minutes ago. The line was not moving.

After another 10 minutes, the airline staff welcomed the guests with the manual issuance of boarding passes. System was still not available so they needed to write everthing down.

It was already 11:50 when we got our boarding passes. At the boarding terminal, the screen says that our flight was delayed and our departure would be at 1:15 in the afternoon. It was further delayed to 1:50.

We earlier decided to take our lunch at Puerto Princesa but this delay had caused so much trouble in our stomachs. We couldn’t find any rice meal from the stores in the boarding terminal so we settled for siopao and iced coffee.

We boarded the plane and arrived at Puerto Princesa around 3:20 in the afternoon.

Photo by Nessa Gabrillo

Photo by Nessa Gabrillo

And Tito Bong, a friend of Nessa’s, surprised us by a red car.

Photo by Nessa Gabrillo

Photo by Nessa Gabrillo

We wanted to go straight to El Nido but Tito Bong said it would be best if we spend the night in Puerto and just leave early morning the next day.

Nessa and I wanted to sleep and rest but we opted to explore Puerto Princesa instead. This was not part of the original plan but everything that happened seemed to be a blessing in disguise.


Next article:

Iwahig Fireflies: Reminiscing Kenshin and Kaoru


Back toΒ HOME PAGE

 

7 thoughts on “The Red Dot Airline: A Blessing in Disguise

  1. Pingback: Iwahig Fireflies: Reminiscing Kenshin and Kaoru | baggage counter

  2. Pingback: Palawan’s Gods and Goddesses: Sun, Fog, Rain, River, Sea | baggage counter

  3. Pingback: Henchman Dudz and the Sons of the Sea God | baggage counter

  4. Pingback: El Nido Inland Tour: The Attack of the Wasp | baggage counter

  5. Pingback: Fever and Farewells: The Ruins of Stalactites | baggage counter

  6. Pingback: Let me Breathe the Air: A song for my Darling Serenity | baggage counter

What about your view?

